cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

PXE with IP Helpers/DHCP Relay

pmj000001
Level 1
Level 1

I'm a Sysadmin and I have a question about what is best practice in regards to PXE servers. We are currently using DHCP Options for PXE clients (options 66,67). This works for most clients but is not the recommended method from either of the vendors we have used (Microsoft or Symantec). They recommend using IP Helpers / DHCP relay to forward the DHCP discover request to the PXE servers so that the PXE server is getting the actual request. This is more of an issue now with UEFI-based machines where the boot file would be different based on if the client is UEFI.

My Network team is against using IP Helpers and thinks it can cause issues. This doesn't seem to make much sense to me, as from what I understand, all that happens is both the DHCP server and the PXE servers get the DHCP discover and respond with their relevant info. Can someone clarify what, if any, issues there are using multiple IP helpers/DHCP relay with PXE Servers like SCCM & Altiris? Is this not standard practice?

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

So... going back to the beginning. IP helpers are a reasonably standard practice in larger organizations. Having IP helpers to additional servers for PXE deployment is a little bit different, but not too far out in left field. As long as there's no situation where there are DHCP servers arguing with each other about IPv4 address leases or network parameters, I can't think of any problems that this might cause.

View solution in original post

16 Replies 16

ghostinthenet
Level 7
Level 7

It's very common to use DHCP relays (IP helpers) in order to centralize DHCP infrastructure. Larger organizations will frequently use this approach in order to avoid having to manually edit DHCP configurations at the router or switch level. Having a few servers with a central DHCP configuration for all segments is a good management proposition.