cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Recovering the IOS image on 2611XM (detailed)

JohnAhringer
Level 1
Level 1

I'm currently a student in high school working with routers in my networking class. I made a mistake and plugged the console cable into the AUX port when I was setting up the routers. Another student using the router performed the erase/reload commands and now the router is stuck in rommon. The IOS image is completely gone and nothing is on flash. I found directions on how to download a new IOS image onto the router using the tftpdnld command using the first LAN port ONLY(thank goodness we have a tftp server in class). I set all of the required variables, making sure the IP of the router and TFTP server are on the same subnet. I connected the router to the computer using a crossover cable on the fast ethernet 0/0. Whenever I do this, there is an orange light on the back of the TFTP server and I can never ping the router from the TFTP server. When I plug the crossover cable into the second ethernet (fast ethernet 0/1 I believe) there is a green light on the back of the TFTP server, but I still cannot ping. My variables are set as follows:

IP_ADDRESS= 10.185.215.6

IP_SUBNET_MASK= 255.255.248.0

DEFAULT_GATEWAY= 10.185.208.1

TFTP_SERVER=10.185.215.5

TFTP_FILE= (whatever the file name is)

(I've also tried other settings for the gateway such as using the TFTP server for this part. 10.185.208.1 is the gateway for our room, but I am connected directly to the TFPT server with the router, so that gateway shouldn't even apply. Maybe this is where I messed up?)

Maybe the fast ethernet port is not configured properly? I'm not very knowledgeable with routers yet, as we are just starting them. My teacher is making me fix the problem and use the router, so I cannot progress until this is fixed. Also, I don't know much about TFTP servers or how they work.