Helpful
Replies

Restrict PC's to use static IP address using cisco switch 3560

sabafonsec
Level 1
Level 1

Hi

I need some help.

I am a network engineer and our network is using DHCP server but we have admin users have static IP address and these IP's have full access to all network (Outside , Firewall , internet , download....etc).

Some of normal users sometimes they take these IP's and use it when the admin laptops are off they are using these ip's specially when they need to download files from the internet (the normal users are using proxy to browse the internet but the admin users have direct access to the internet ).

If i can map the IP addess to the MAC addess for the Admin users and if any one try to use these ip address he can't connect to the network.

Can any one help me to restrict these users to don't use these IP's by using (VLAN Map, access list, MAC ...) Our access switch are cisco 3560.

Our network is one VLAN.

Any other information please tell me.

Thank you

Regards

7 Replies 7

drolemc
Level 6
Level 6

I think you are trying to restrict Pc's with certain IP address to go out to another network. Since the current access list is based on source ip address of the PC's it should be applied inbound on the vlan 225. The packet coming from the PC destined for remote network will have source ip of PC and detination of remote network thecurrent ACL s will block the Inbound packet by looking at the inbound source ip address. If you put the ACL as out bound the source ip address will be different and it will always pass through with reference to the current ACL's established.

guruprasadr
Level 7
Level 7

HI, [PLS RATE if HELPS]

Best Option is to use the "Port Security" Feature in CISCO Switches.

Configuration Commands as follows:

------------------------------------

Router(config)# interface interface_id

Router(config-if)# switchport mode access

Router(config-if)# switchport port-security