cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Routing and Switching with Catalyst 3550-48

Im.The.One
Level 1
Level 1

Ok, so I am still studying and practicing for my CCNA, and am very new to Cisco and only know basic commands and configuring etc. So my boss is wanting me to configure these routers we got for clients of ours as practice. We will be using them with a T1 using an AdTran as the middle man and everything in the AdTran is disabled. What I have been trying to figure out is how I can have 1 cord running from AdTran to port 1 on Cisco, this in my head would be the routing port and allow the rest of the ports to be switch ports... Am I thinking this through properly? If so can someone give a possible lead as to where I could find out how to do this? I have been watching through some of the nuggets that we have and the only one I can find and the one my boss thought would help is more so about VLANS and Trunking rather than the, what seems to be basic setup that we need.

Can anyone shed some light on me to help me out?

10 Replies 10

Edwin Summers
Level 3
Level 3

This Cisco document may provide some additional information for you:

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/docs/switches/lan/catalyst3550/software/release/12.1_19_ea1/configuration/guide/swint.html#wp1035057

Depending on how you want to set it up, you are on the right track.  Since the 3550 has layer 3 capability, you can set up routed ports by using the no switchport command from interface configuration mode.  From there, you can assign the port an IP address and so forth.

For the "back end" (LAN) connections you can set up VLANs to separate broadcast domains.  If you configure each VLAN with the appropriate SVI you can route between them as well as through your routed port to the World.

Does this help?  Feel free to follow up with additional questions.

-Ed

Leo Laohoo
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame