Cisco Support Community
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements

Welcome to Cisco Support Community. We would love to have your feedback.

For an introduction to the new site, click here. If you'd prefer to explore, try our test area to get started. And see here for current known issues.

Routing the internet through a EHWIC port

This is a basic question but I am new to configuring Cisco routers.

I currently have a Cisco 2921 router taking in the Internet from interface GigabitEthernet0/0 and it is spitting out the Internet for the office LAN on interface GigabitEthernet0/1.

I have a EHWIC card installed and I would like one of the ports on that card to connected to a machine that will have a different external IP than GigabitEthernet0/0.  I want the device that will plug into the EHWIC port to be available straight to the Internet without any firewalling and it's IP should be 1.2.3.4 (an externally reachable IP).

Is below the correct configuration?

interface FastEthernet0/0

ip address 1.2.3.4 subnet 

duplex auto
 speed auto
 no mop enabled

Thanks!

• LAN Switching and Routing
6 REPLIES
Cisco Employee

Hi Nick,

Hi Nick,

I am afraid it will be more complicated than that.

First, the EHWIC card is most probably a Layer2 switch only, meaning none of its interfaces can have an IP address configured and act like a routed interface. Instead, what you need to do is to assign the switched interface to a specific VLAN, and assign the IP address to a virtual interface we call Switched Virtual Interface that represents the router port for all members of the particular VLAN, so for example:

vlan 11
 name Internet
!
interface FastEthernet 0/1/0
 switchport mode access
 switchport access vlan 11
 spanning-tree portfast
!
interface Vlan11
 ip address address netmask

The other issue is more complex, though. You have indicated that you want the attached station to directly have an externally visible and reachable address.