Replies

RSPAN across VTP domains

Pete89
Level 2
Level 2

Hello,

Since a picture says a thousand words. Here is my basic setup:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/31154535@N07/4690608002/sizes/l/

What I would like to do is capture vlan 222 on the closet siwtch in the diagram in VTP Domain A and send that traffic to a port on the switch in VTP Domain B. Sounds simple but I have never used RSPAN before and dont even know if this will work. The SVI for vlan 222 is on the core switch. Also if I have several closet switches (and I do) and I want to do the same with them does that change the solution if there is one?

Thanks for any help and advice you can give.

P.

5 Replies 5

Thanks Andrew,

Good links.

Accoring to the documentation there are two things that strike me under RPAN guidelines:

As RSPAN VLANs have special properties, you  should reserve a few VLANs across your network for use as RSPAN VLANs;  do not assign access ports to these VLANs.

Access ports (including voice VLAN ports) on the  RSPAN VLAN are put in the inactive state.

In my case vlan 222 is the voice vlan. In fact this project is for capturing RTP and SIP for a voice aquisition server. The first point states RSPAN VLANS should not have ports assigned to that vlan. Perhaps I am not underatnding this, but does that mean if i have the command switcport access vlan 222 on s port that RSPAN wont work?

And point two I dont understand what they mean by inactive state

Thanks again,

P.

Did you read all 3 links - all the way thru? You pointed out:-

- As RSPAN VLANs have special properties, you  should reserve a few VLANs across  your network for use as RSPAN VLANs;  do not assign access ports to these VLANs.

- Access ports (including voice VLAN ports) on the  RSPAN VLAN are put in the  inactive state.

Read Link -

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/docs/switches/lan/catalyst3750/software/release/12.1_19_ea1/configuration/guide/swspan.html#wp1081130