Views
Helpful
Replies

Single Interface Routing

jahkeupvee
Level 1
Level 1

Hi all,

I am a recent student to Cisco products and I have purchased some (what I thought was good) lab equipment to learn with on a budget. What I have is a 2948G switch and a 2620 router. My issue is this: the router has only one fastEthernet port. Is it possible to use VLANs and VLAN Interfaces on the router and switch to somehow emulate a second interface to connect to a WAN or subnet?

Your response is very much appreciated.

Thanks!

Jake

11 Replies 11

viswamin
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Did you try creating a sub-interface?

Not sure how much it would be helpful but you could def give it a try....

-Vijay

I did though it threw an error when I ran fa0/0.2 and tried to set an ip:

% Configuring IP routing on a LAN subinterface is only allowed if that

subinterface is already configured as part of an IEEE 802.10, IEEE 802.1Q,

or ISL vLAN.

Forgive me, I am still young into the profession. I know this has to do with encapsulation or something of that nature.

you have to set up the encapsulation techinique first.

try configuring this command on the interface

encapsulation dot1q

-Vijay

Thanks Vijay, that appears to have worked. Though on the side of a true connection, I would then add vlan 2 to the same port on the switch and another port only on vlan 2 for the external link correct?

Are you trying to perform inter-vlan routing?

-Vijay

Essentially, though I may be wrong as I still need to pick up on the terminology.

Bascially I have an internet connection and a connection to a switch from the router. I will have the physical internet ethernet connection to the switch on a port on VLAN2. VLAN2 would only contain that port (internet) and the port of the router (which would also be on VLAN1 for it's network and routing).

sorry jacob can you send your netowrk diagram along with what you are trying to do? I could not much on your topology.

-Vijay