cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Site-Website-Site VPN w/ Dynamic IP on both ends...

jwunderwood007
Level 1
Level 1

Alright before I start I'm fairly new to this and only hold CCNA, Sec+, and A+ certs with about one year help desk experience with networking and 10 years with Electronics maintenance. I'm currently working on CS and Electronics degrees and just finished putting a lab together to study for CCNP, Server+,and Linux + certs. ie I'm no networking ninja guru, but I'm not a tard either.

Bottom Line Up Front:

I need to be able to access my home network and labs from anywhere in the world as I tend to travel alot.

Resources:

Comcast Cable Residential Internet Connection

Cisco 815 V01 ISR with ver 12.4 Software

Cisco Catalyst 2950 Switch

Personal website with URL

Desired Setup:

I want to be able to VPN into my home network through WAN. I want to use my own website to overcome dynamic ip if someone can turn me onto a resource that can teach me how to build this into my site. That is unless someone knows how to overcome it without having to use one of these services. Obviously this is to better secure my network by insuring I retain as much control over it's gateways as possible. I would rather have a static ip on the home lab end but as everyone knows Comcast won't do this without having to use thier equipment and I don't like them having that much control. ie I want thier physical presence to stop where thier line stops at the wall of my domicile and thier virtual presence to stop at the node upstream outside. This is more due to principal and the fact I'm trying to practice my security skills.

The 815 will be the gateway and therefore will have the firewalls etc. It will route to the Catalyst and to a Lab Web server while the Catalyst will do the switching to the other labs and the rest of the home network.

Questions:

1. Will I need another device at the remote end of the VPN?