Views
Helpful
Replies

Subinterface & VLAN Issue

rodonohu1
Level 1
Level 1

Hi All,

This is my first time using this so be easy on me!

I have setup two Subinterfaces on a FastEthernet interface on a 2801 router. Both are tagged with different VLan's and the interface is physially connected into a 2980 switch port which is trunked. Ok so far.

The problem the arises. On the 2980 switch, I assign a port into one Vlan and it works fine. However anything connected to the other Vlan can't be ping'ed. I can ping the gateway address of both but just can't get to any device on one of the Vlans.

I have this set up on another site and it works fine.

Need any more info please reply!

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Hi Friend,

Yes that is the issue. You can configure native vlan on your subinterface fa0/0.2 by just adding a native keyword after "encapsulation dot1q 2 native" or else you can change the native vlan 2 to 1 on trunk with a command "set vlan 1 2/29"

HTH

Ankur

View solution in original post

13 Replies 13

amit-singh
Level 8
Level 8

Hi,

What is the default-gateway that is being used on the hosts in the vlan. The default-gateway should be the sub-interface Ip of the router's interface in their respective vlans.

Please paste the router and switch config.

-amit singh

Hi,

Thanks for the reply.

Please see attahced the Router and Switch config.

Hope you can see what the issue is as its been causing me hours of headache!

Rob.

Hi Friend,

You have a policy map configured on your sub interface fa0/0.4 and which calls for route map which further calls for access list 99 which specifies the source ip subnet address for your subinterface fa0/0.4 subnet.

Now anything which comes on your subinterface fa0/0.4 from its subnet it will pass the policy and will be fwded as per the route set in your route map overriding the routing table.