Views
Helpful
Replies

Test LAN for Research Project - Help & Suggestions

OPP_Protocol
Level 1
Level 1

Hello all,

I am asking for help for a research project I am doing on how network topology affects data traffic and routing. Most of my background is in the sciences and while I consider myself reasonably knowledge about IT and networks, there are a few fine engineering points I know I might miss.

In particular for this experiment, I am setting up an experimental network of between 25-35 Layer 3 switches (routers more or less) in different network configurations. What I plan on doing is simulating network traffic between all switch pairs by connecting all of the switches into one network.

I want to generate traffic on the network by connecting ALL of these switches to a large hub which is also connected to a PC which will direct TCP/IP and UDP/IP traffic to all of the switch IP addresses and by routing it through the hub I want to make sure I generate traffic on all paths by having all of these packets pass through each switch to the other pairs.

1) Is there an easier way to generate traffic across the network than this? I obviously don't want (or can afford) hooking up 25-35 different PCs to each switch to generate traffic.

2) I have a feeling I may run into some major packet collision problems. Is there a way to minimize this?

Next, most of the traffic going through the network will be UDP since I don't want to deal with all the feedback traffic connection-based protocols like TCP create in addition to congestion control activity, etc. I need to measure the data rate of the network though so I am planning to have small TCP flows (compared to the size of UDP flows) generated in the network to all IP addresses whose return packets (they can return through the hub right?) will provide RTT and TTL data on the different network paths to help me evaluate the performance on the network under stressful loads.