Views
Helpful
Replies

Trunk Disaster Recovery site

SeYo23
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

I'm quite new in the cisco world, i need your lights.

Application team request to have same vlan over a MAN (4Gb dark fiber connection) between our data center and the disaster recovery site in order to speed the process to recover the virtual machines if the data center is down.

To summarize, we have a network design like this :

2 cata 6509 in the datacenter connected to a wan link and a internet link

1 cata 3750 at the dr site, with wan link and probably a internet link in the future

I want to trunk the cata 6509 to the 3750 in the DR site to have the same vlans and use the 2Gb line for traffic

Till that, i think it's ok, but now, how i do fail over when the fiber between the 2 sites are down.

Can i use the IP SLA thing to do that ? to enable other routes when the 2Gb line is down ?

Can we have like a "stand by" routing table for that ?

Let me know if you need anything else regarding the configuration.

Thank you in advance

6 Replies 6

Jon Marshall
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

SeYo23@gmail.com

Hello,

I'm quite new in the cisco world, i need your lights.

Application team request to have same vlan over a MAN (4Gb dark fiber connection) between our data center and the disaster recovery site in order to speed the process to recover the virtual machines if the data center is down.

To summarize, we have a network design like this :

2 cata 6509 in the datacenter connected to a wan link and a internet link

1 cata 3750 at the dr site, with wan link and probably a internet link in the future

I want to trunk the cata 6509 to the 3750 in the DR site to have the same vlans and use the 2Gb line for traffic

Till that, i think it's ok, but now, how i do fail over when the fiber between the 2 sites are down.

Can i use the IP SLA thing to do that ? to enable other routes when the 2Gb line is down ?

Can we have like a "stand by" routing table for that ?