cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Two trunk links to each switch in Cisco ???

bazzamacca1980
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

I am studying CCNA 3 Lan Switching.

I have a question about the multiple trunk links that show up in my study notes.

Throughout the notes it explains about the trunk link betwenn switches, which i understand that once STP kicks in one of these links will be blocked.

When I go to the packet tracer sample exercises the switches now have 2 trunk links between each switch.

Can someone explain why the jump to 2 links??

Would STP then block 3 of the trunk links and leave one open?

I have attached an image of what I mean.

Thanks guys!!

9 Replies 9

Reza Sharifi
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Hi,

Usually when there are 2 links, you create an Etherchannel (bundle the links together) to get higher bandwidth.  You can put up to 8 physical links in an Etherchannel.

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/tech/tk389/tk213/technologies_configuration_example09186a0080094bc5.shtml

HTH

Hi,

I was thinking that, but there is no mention of creating the 2 links to etherchannel in the packet tracer or even how to configure it.

Could there be any other purpose for the 2 links or am I just misinterpreting it?

I think, it is Etherchannel.  It is pretty common for access layer switches to uplink to the Distro and core via Etherchannels. 

What book is that?

HTH

Hi,

Its the Cisco Networking academy online study material, Exploration 3.

I will re-read my labs, to see if there is mention of etherchannel in the one with multiple trunks in that particular lab.

What would happen if you configured 2 trunk links on the same switch with the same VLAN's does it automatically become an etherchannel? Just thinking its a bit strange if it is etherchannel as there is no real reference to configure it in the notes.

I found a mention of it in the notes

hopefully its ok to post it here...

"