cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Unable to Ping

simon.hutton1
Level 1
Level 1

First let me apologize for posting probably such a simple question but i'm new to configuring routers so please be nice :) I have installed a 2nd router on our network (my first router config) from this router I can get out to the rest of the network and Internet no problem however I am not able to access any computer connected to the new router. There are 2 networks configured on the new router 10.20.4.0/10.20.5.0. I can ping the router and connect to it over my network, I can ping 10.20.4.1 and 5.1 but the laptop I connect which, has IP address 10.20.4.2, I am unable to ping.

25 Replies 25

Please draw a diagram and I can help further...

HTH, John *** Please rate all useful posts ***

Thank you for all the help. Attached is a very quick basic diagram of the current setup. I am physically sat at Laptop A and Laptop B is in the server room connected directly to FE 0/1 Hope this helps.

Ah okay...I get it now. I believe your problem is your natting. If everything is in your control, there's no need to nat.

Look at it from this perspective. At this point, the only networks RouterA knows about are its networks which are 10.20.0.0/22 (10.20.0.0 - 10.20.3.255). With nat enabled, your 10.20.4.0 and 10.20.5.0 networks are reaching RouterA as the natted address of 10.20.3.253. When you're trying to ping 10.20.4.x from LaptopA, you can't because that network doesn't exist to RouterA, so it's sending to the default route.

What I would do is remove all natting from the fa0/0 interface on RouterB. Your rip process should be able to route this correctly. Personally, I'd also add "version 2" under the rip process unless you're neighboring with a device that doesn't support version 2. If you're not, you'll be in a better position since version 1 is classful.

In summary:

Remove "ip nat out" from g0/0.

Give it a few minutes for rip to catch up and then try again.

HTH,

John