cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Unable to Ping

simon.hutton1
Level 1
Level 1

First let me apologize for posting probably such a simple question but i'm new to configuring routers so please be nice :) I have installed a 2nd router on our network (my first router config) from this router I can get out to the rest of the network and Internet no problem however I am not able to access any computer connected to the new router. There are 2 networks configured on the new router 10.20.4.0/10.20.5.0. I can ping the router and connect to it over my network, I can ping 10.20.4.1 and 5.1 but the laptop I connect which, has IP address 10.20.4.2, I am unable to ping.

2 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

There are no rip learned routes in the routing table. Did you ever have rip routes, or did you just configure it and it not work? If you do a "show ip rip database" on both routers, do you get anything back?

If not, you could always put your static routes on routerA. This is the exact reason why you lost internet access when you removed nat. The only network RouterA knows about is 10.20.0.0/22 which your 10.20.3.0 falls into. When you nat, all of your traffic is going out of routerB as the 10.20.3.253 wan address. Before you can remove nat though, you'll need to get the routing fixed on RouterA.

Try 10.20.4.0 <netmask> with a next hop of 10.20.3.253. Remove nat again and try again...

John

HTH, John *** Please rate all useful posts ***

View solution in original post

Glad to hear it! Can you please mark this as resolved?

Thanks!

John

View solution in original post

25 Replies 25

John Blakley
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

The most common cause of this is the firewall on the laptop is enabled. Have you made sure that it's disabled? If it is, you can try to source your ping:

ping 10.20.4.2 source 10.20.4.1

HTH,

John