Views
Helpful
Replies

Up-link 2 x 3750 Stack to 4 x 3850 stack

Mike Hogenauer
Level 1
Level 1

All - 

Sorry is this is a rather simple question but I’ve never worked with Stack switches before? I have a remote office that has 3 floors. On one floor we have a 2 3750s in a stack. On another we have a single 3560 and I’m going to be installing a new 3850 stack – the new stack will have 4 x 3850’s...

My question is how should I uplink the other switches to the new stack? In the new stack I have a master a slave and two member switches. Should I create a port channel from the 3750’s and use all available links and spread them across all switches in the new stack, and then do the same with the single switch on the other floor? Or should I create two port-channels from the 3750 and the 3560 to the new 3850 stack?

My thought is that if I create a single port channel form each switch to the new stack I would be basically be removing spanning tree from the environment and basically daisy chaining the switches? Is this a valid solution? Also does the stack act like a chassis where the control plan would be on the master – if so can I spread a interfaces in a port channel across all members in the stack?

Thanks in advance

Mike 

4 Replies 4

Leo Laohoo
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

The newest "fad" around LAN switching is stacking.  There are so many benefits to this feature:  etherchannel across multiple physical switches that are members to the stack without the need for STP, HSRP, VRRP, etc.  

So let us say you've got a stack (of two) 3750:  3750-1 and 3750-2.  Let's also presume your "core" is a stack of four 3850:  3850-1, 3850-2, 3850-3 and 3850-4.  

Now you've got soooo many ways to choose from.  But you have to bear in mind this factor:  Your SFP ports are LIMITED.  You don't want to "burn" so many SFP ports unnecessarily ... unless you happen to have 3850-12S or 3850-24S.