Views
Helpful
Replies

Using ASA-5510 to route VLAN WLAN connection

scottrhodes13a
Level 1
Level 1

Hi Everyone..

I am a complete newbie to Cisco equipment. So far I've been able to figure out how to do most of what I needed by using the ASDM but I have run into something that is a little more complicated that just opening a port.

We currently have a connection to our remote site. This site has a T1 internet connection. Our connection is a site to site VPN with an ASA-5510 on this end and a ASA-5505 on the other.

We are upgrading this connection to a 75mbit hybrid microwave/fiber link. The provider is going to hand it off to us as an untagged VLAN. We made the decision to route all of the remote site's internet access through this location as to avoid having to split off part of the bandwidth of this link to dedicate to internet access.

We also have an Enterasys B3 Layer 3 switch and on the test bench I believe I have successfully configured this switch to enable the VLANs to communicate with each other and allow the remote site internet access.

The main office uses ip schema 10.0/16 and the remote office uses 10.3/16

However, after giving this more thought, I believe that the ASA-5510 would be better suited to this task.

We have unused Ethernet ports on the device, so how would I configure the ASA to do this?

I am sure I would have to configure the unused port, along with VLAN config and some routing configuration, but I am completely ignorant on how to do this.

Thank You for any help,

Michael

3 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

Hello again,

The last image you included is the closest to what I would implement and what I tried to convey via the visio diagram I had attached with my previous post. The second image is much simpler, the only difference being that any broadcast traffic generated at the remote site would traverse the point-to-point link - dying at port1 on the Enterasys.