Views
Helpful
Replies

Using ip-helper without using DHCP functionality

jamesedmonds
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

I am fairly new to Cisco, and am after a bit of help.

My scenario:

We have a new domain setup on a new VLAN (3), seperate from our current infrastructure VLAN (2).

The new domain controllers provide DHCP for our new servers, and I would also like them to handle DHCP for wireless clients.

We have one DHCP scope 10.0.0.0 255.255.0.0, and I would like to assign all wireless clients an IP in the 10.0.6.0 range.

My thinking on the best way to do this, is with a DHCP policy, that looks at the relay agent information.

I would then set the ip-helper address, on the port the wireless access point is connected to on the Cisco, to point to the DHCP server.

Then for that same port, I would seb a subscriber id in the relay agent information, and use this string to set the IP assigned to that device.

Looking into doing this, it seems the Ciscos DHCP functionality has to be turned on in order to use ip-helper.

In my config, I cannot tell if DHCP is enabled or not, I can see neither "service dhcp", nor "no service dhcp" in the config.

Assuming I were to turn it on using "service dhcp", can I then leave the actual functionality turned off? i.e. turn on the DHCP service, but not have it assign IP addresses?

Also, does turning it on cause any downtime or disruption?

I think I have to run these commands:

conf t

service dhcp

interface GigabitEthernet2/40

Ip helper-address 10.0.0.1

Ip dhcp relay information option-insert

Ip dhcp relay information option subscriber-id “wireless”

I know these are probably simple questions, so please forgive my ignorance.

James

21 Replies 21

devils_advocate
Level 7
Level 7

Where does the 10.0.0.0 /16 DHCP scope reside currently?

Whoever chose to use a /16 subnet needs a slap ;)

Richard Burts
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

James