Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

VLAN's and IP addresses

Hello,

I am very new to the CISCO world and I just recently got my CCNA. I just aquired a Network Admin position and the network works fine but I want to know wha some of the commands are and why they are implemented in a switch/router. My question is I have about 30+ switches in the network with a mix of 2960/3500/3560 switches, and all with VLAN's naturally. But some VLAN's have ip addresses assigned to the and some do not. I know how this is configured but dont know why it is configured this way. All the switches connect back to the core so that is why I dont know why the mix and match IP addresses for VLANs. Keep in mind when answering I am only a CCNA working on CCNP routing/switching. So my knowledge is a little past basic but my common sense is a little higher so if you explain it well Im sure I can figure it out. Any help would be appreciated.

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

John Blakley
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

L3 Switched Virtual Interfaces (SVI) are attached to vlans for routing. If you have a vlan without an SVI attached, you have a L2 vlan. Those vlans still need something to route, so those vlans will need to be carried up to a router to get out. The L3 switches will route for you, so they have IP addresses assigned. The IP addresses assigned will be the gateway for your hosts, much like a router would be.

vlan 10

int vlan 10

ip address 10.10.10.1 255.255.255.0

Host configuration:

ip address 10.10.10.100 255.255.255.0

default gateway: 10.10.10.1

Notice the host will use the switches interface Vlan 10 to get out, but the host still needs to be part of that vlan:

int g1/0/20

switchport mode access

switchport access vlan 10