cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

VPN Basics: how to route?

cluovpemb
Level 1
Level 1

Hi, I am relatively new to Cisco and am wondering the following. 

I have 6 rotuers, all 891W's, one for each site.  RouterA will be the central office to which the othe 5 routes VPN into or rather, maintain a persistent VPN connection with as they are peers, not client/server (I think).  If I use CCP on each to configure Internet, NAT, Firewall, and Site to Site VPN, what more must I do to ensure the LAN systems can reach each other from one site to the next?  After configuring two test routers, I noticed that the routing table had no entries for the other rotuer's LAN network.  So RouterA LAN = 192.168.50.0/24 and RouterB is 192.168.100.0/24.  A laptop plugged into RouterA's LAN can't ping a system on RouterB's LAN. 

I assume I need to add routing entries, perhaps just static?  When configuring this though, would I have a "VPN tunnel" interface of some kind, or would I just tell it that to get to say, 192.168.100.0/24 on the remote router's LAN, I must go through my local gig0 interface (WAN), and somehow the router knows that traffic going to the remote site shoudl be VPN-secured? 

Clearly I'm confused Thank you for any help you can provide. 

1 Reply 1

Peter Paluch
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Hello Colin,