Views
Helpful
Replies

VSS 6506-E peer line cards not coming up

rguntenaar
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

I am new to VSS and am trying to setup the following.

I am following the best practices from Cisco.

VSS pair with two 6506-E chassis, one Sup2T per chassis, two WS-X6848-SFP (DFC4) per chassis

using two 10GE VSL links.

Once the system is converted I see the interfaces from the peer member.

The lights on the 2 line cards or the standby peer however do not come up.

I would expect that all four line cards would be active.

If I do a switch over the line cards from the peer need to boot first which does not make things happy.

Is there anything that I need to do extra in order to get all linecards active?

One little issue. Both chassis have one version difference which I will change once I have the correct software from Cisco.

Thanks,
Remco

14 Replies 14

JohnTylerPearce
Level 7
Level 7

Can you see the card, if you run 'show module'?

Hi There,

Yes I can see the cards  for both chassis. I do have one SW version mismatch which I hope to fix on Monday.

For my understanding all line cards should be up an running right (other wise VSS would not make sence).

Thanks John.

Remco

Seems to be compatible as well.

6800 Series Gigabit Ethernet Fiber & Copper Modules

Designed for high performance Enterprise and Service Provider distribution, core layers, data-center, Web-hosting and Metro Ethernet applications, 6800 Series Fiber and Copper media interface modules provide Gigabit Ethernet forwarding using fiber optic or twisted pair cabling.

There are 3 different 1G modules which are supported with new Supervisor 2T and 2TXL:

• WS-X6824-SFP-2T and WS-X6824-SFP-2TXL: 24-port SFP fiber Gigabit Ethernet Module with DFC4 and DFC4XL (Figure 3)

• WS-X6848-SFP-2T and WS-X68248-SFP-2TXL: 48-port SFP fiber Gigabit Ethernet Module with DFC4 and DFC4XL (Figure 4)

• WS-X6848-TX-2T and WS-X6848-TX-2TXL: 48-port Copper Gigabit Ethernet Module with DFC4 and DFC4XL (Figure 5)