Cisco Support Community
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements

Welcome to Cisco Support Community. We would love to have your feedback.

For an introduction to the new site, click here. And see here for current known issues.

New Member

VTP Doubt

Hi,

If a new switch_A (Mode : Client) is added in a VTP domain, which is having a higher Revision number , can this cause mis-configuration in already running domain .

regards

Neo

6 REPLIES
Bronze

Re: VTP Doubt

Depends on the VTP settings of the switch.

The client mode will not cause mis-configuration in an already running domain.

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/tech/tk389/tk689/technologies_tech_note09186a0080094c52.shtml

Re: VTP Doubt

If the VTP domain and password are the same AND the configuration revision number is higher of the client switch, then the client switch will override the VLAN settings of all the other devices.

It's better to reset the configuration revision number by

or

setting it to transparent mode and then back

or change the VTP domain name and then back

New Member

Re: VTP Doubt

Hi ,

My question is whether a Client Switch has the capabilty to do mis-configuration , if its revision number is greater than the Server Switch in that domain in which that client switch is added.

regards

Neo

Hall of Fame Super Blue

Re: VTP Doubt

Neo

If by mis-configuration you mean change the vlan database to something different than it should be then Davy has answered your question.

Jon

New Member

Re: VTP Doubt

Hi Jon & Davy,

I am in impression that only switch which is in Server Mode can only override the config not a switch running in client mode.

regards

Neo

Hall of Fame Super Blue

Re: VTP Doubt

Neo

Well then, your impression is wrong :-)

Seriously if the criteria Davy outlined in his post match then a client being added to a network can and will overwrite the VTP database.

Once the client is installed on the network and working then it would not be able to overwrite anything because you can't make modifications on a client so you can't change the revision number.

Jon

123
Views
8
Helpful
6
Replies