cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

When I setup a port for Trunk mode, how do I assign that trunk port to a VLAN?

joealbergo
Level 1
Level 1

I am doing this lab for practice in Packet Tracer --- I am studying CCENT. The lab comes set up with a few VLANS, 3 switches and 6 pcs.

I do "show vlan" and I see that the only port not on the list of VLAN's is my fa0/3 port which I have the mode set to trunk.

I hope you can help - thanks in advance.

-Joe

4 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

Jon Marshall
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

You don't assign the trunk port to a vlan. When you create a trunk port by  default it allows all vlans, that is why you do not see the port allocated to any

one vlan.

You can limit the vlans allowed on a trunk by using the "switchport trunk allowed vlan " command.

If you want to see which vlans are currently allowed on the trunk do a "sh interface trunk".

Jon

View solution in original post

joealbergo wrote:

What does this mean when.

Vlans in spanning tree forwarding state and not pruned

... and then it displays certain VLAN ID's -

It means that STP (spanning tree) has not blocked for any of those vlans listed and that VTP has not pruned any of those vlans.

VTP pruning is used where you have for example 2 switches connected together. You create a trunk link between the 2 switches and by default all vlans are allowed across. Lets say you have 10 vlans on both switches. But on sw2 you only have ports allocated into 8 of those vlans ie. traffic for the other 2 vlans is not needed by sw2 because it has no members of those 2 vlans. Without VTP pruning any broadcast and unknown unicast traffic will still be sent across the trunk link for those vlans. With VTP pruning enabled traffic is not sent for those 2 vlans to sw2 because there is no need.

So VTP pruning is a kind of efficiency mechanism.

Jon

joealbergo wrote:

Also,

by default all VLAN ID's are allowed.