Cisco Support Community
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements

Welcome to Cisco Support Community. We would love to have your feedback.

For an introduction to the new site, click here. And see here for current known issues.

New Member

wipe startup-config

Can someone please tell me how to wipe out the startup-config from a 2811?

3 REPLIES
bjw Silver
Silver

Re: wipe startup-config

erase startup-config

[confirm]enter

Done

Bronze

Re: wipe startup-config

my favorite commands!!!

write erase

reload

bjw Silver
Silver

Re: wipe startup-config

write erase

The write erase command is replaced by the erase nvram: command. See the description of the erase command for more information.

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/customer/products/ps6350/products_command_reference_chapter09186a0080444c53.html#wp1033407

Usage Guidelines

The erase nvram: command replaces the write erase command and the erase startup-config command.

When a file system is erased, none of the files in the file system can be recovered.

The erase command can be used on both Class B and Class C Flash file systems only. To reclaim space on Flash file systems after deleting files using the delete command, you must use the erase command. This command erases all of the files in the Flash file system.

If the flash memory is partitioned, all partitions must be removed before using the erase command.

Class A Flash file systems cannot be erased. You can delete individual files using the delete EXEC command and then reclaim the space using the squeeze EXEC command. You can use the format EXEC command to format the Flash file system.

The erase nvram: command erases NVRAM. On Class A file system platforms, if the CONFIG_FILE variable specifies a file in Flash memory, the specified file will be marked "deleted."

The /no-squeeze option is available on systems with small amounts of Flash memory in order to conserve memory. When a squeeze operation is performed, the last two erase sectors are permanently reservered for the squeeze logs and squeeze buffer. Disabling the squeeze operation keeps these memory sectors free. If any sectors using squeeze data are detected, they will be erased when the /no-squeeze option is used.

1620
Views
0
Helpful
3
Replies