Views
Helpful
Replies

Some help on ATM basics

ankurbhasin
Level 9
Level 9

Hi Champs,

I am new to this old technology and have some basic questions.

1) What are the scenarios where VPC will be used and what are the scenarios where VCC will be used?

2) Also these are 2 different kinds of connections which customer will ask for or the ISP will configure as per his ease?

3) I understand that bundle of VCC can be used over a single VPC but what will be the advantage of doing the so? Will there be more throughput?

I know these are very basic concepts but waht to get good hands on ATM technology so pleae take sometime to answer my doubts and incase I am on a wrong forum please redirect me to the right one.

Regards,

Ankur

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Hello,

the first question is, whether there is a technical need to separate the 23 channels in the ATM network.

What usually is done when you want T1 point-to-point (for PBX interconnection NOT using voip) is called CES (circuit emulation service), which takes T1 or E1 frames (OSI layer 1) or even just the Bit stream, places this into ATM cell payload (AAL1) and transports it to the other end. The customer will have a normal T1 interface to the SP, just the transportation inside the SP network is through ATM and not TDM.

Assuming you want to demultiplex the T1 into 23 channels with different destination ports, then ATM VCC connections will be setup. But VPC is not an option in this case anyhow because of different destinations.

Again, with Cisco WAN switches you could create "channel-groups" - they are actually called ports in the WAN switching terminology - and do CES for those single ports. Again a VCC would be used. Each VCC for a port can have a different destination - up to 23, if you want.

So a VPC is only needed if you have an ATM interface to the SP and you order ATM VPC service to be able to setup VCCs yourself. Typical scenario, as mentioned above: interconnection of customer ATM switches.