Views
Helpful
Replies

Head End Build between MPLS and standard IP network

steven.gunner
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

I'm a bit new to MPLS to please excuse my ignorance if I'm completely wrong here, but here goes.

We provide standard IP services to our customers. We have recently gone into an agreement with an MPLS wholesale provider, where they supply our customers with MPLS connections. We then supply IP services to these customers such as SMTP POP and Web browsing etc.

We have a pipe into the MPLS providers MPLS cloud that provides such connectivity. This circuit is terminated on a 7206VXR on our network.

Each customer has their own DLCI on this circuit with a /30 subnet. There is then a BGP session for each customer using the /30 from our Head End Router to the MPLS Provider's P router.

The MPLS provider announces the customers subnets that are connected to the MPLS cloud to our Head End Router using BGP.

My issue is that I want routes announced from each BGP session to be injected into their own, per customer VRF table so that the routes are kept seperate from other customers routes.

I've setup a lab to simulate the above, but cannot seem to get it to work.

I suppose my question is does the MPLS provider's P router that our Head End connects to have to announce the BGP routes to us using VRF also or can it just use standard BGP and I can use a route map to place routes announced from a specific BGP peer IP into a per Customer VRF table?

Is this actually possible?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated

6 Replies 6

olorunloba
Level 5
Level 5

From your explanation, I understand that for each customer you have a seperate interface and a seperate BGP session. If so, you can simply create vrfs for each customer on your headend router. The customer interfaces will now be out in their respective VRFs. In this situation, the BGP session will be created under the IPv4 vrf family. This will create a seperate table for each customer.