Cisco Support Community
Community Member

Aironet 1200 AP Rommon / Disco Lights Problem

Hi there community - 

Apologies,  I'm a total noob.  Just learning about all this, fumbling my way through the millions of pages of info out there.  Sorry if this is too wordy, I'm trying to put as much info here as possible...

So I've bought a 1200 Series AP second hand.  It appears that it was installed in a business foyer, initially the SSID was Physio Reception or something like that.  I've spent hours trying to configure it to my own purposes and keep hitting brick walls.

The best info I have is the following - 

When in stand alone mode, CLI says it has no IP.

When an IP is served to it by a DHCP server, CLI comes up with the error - *Mar  1 00:21:44.614: %CAPWAP-3-ERRORLOG: Could Not resolve CISCO-LWAPP-CONTROLLER  which is the point at which all 3 colours of LED start flashing in sequence and it won't respond.  

Pinging it works ok, it seems stuck on even when in disco mode.

I can't access the configuration GUI through a web browser, or connect to it with Cisco Network Assistant.

I can see what it is doing with terminal CLI (connected with a console cable), and issue commands but most of the information I've gleaned from hours of searching is either not relevant to this AP or just plain doesn't work and I get command errors.

I've done the Cisco reset thing, powering on the unit while holding the mode button  (both ways - so its amber and so its red) but it still looks for the LWAPP controller whatever that it.

So yep.  I've either bought a paper weight or something can be done about this.  If anyone out there would be so kind as to explain like I'm five how to reflash it or something so I can reconfigure it I'd be forever in your debt.... Can repay the favour with emails of cute kittehs.  And stuff.

I just want to plug it into a router and have it become a node.  With a fixed IP address.  And a password.  How hard can this be?