cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

ASA5506-X simple setup NOT understanding HELP

Myleslandish
Level 1
Level 1

I’m not sure if I’m posting this in the right spot; I’m new to this needing help with setup of a device. 

I’ve been trying and failing at setting up my 5506. I have a few questions I think if I can get cleared up I can maybe get this working. Please help with understanding of a big lack in network management and understanding.

Is there any harm or misstep by not using the command line and solely using the ASDM to configure the device? I’m asking bc what’s absolutely made this process of trying to watch videos to see how to program the thing they ALL use a combination of CL and then it seems all that to just access the ASDM.

If I just wanted to have two interfaces set up. The internet service in and the second be the internet service out. I don’t need the device to manage a whole internal lan or anything. I’m sure this makes it simpler to explain.

Also, I’m not sure if it matters what my internet line in has as its IP and all that network info when choosing the ip address for that interface. That’s been part that’s thrown me off on understanding what ip’s to set the interfaces up.

My plan is to use my 5505 in basic setup as a switch that gets its internet to spread along from the 2nd (out) interface on the 5506 (the fire walled internet service out from the 5506)

So I guess there’s also the management port but that interface, and the service in, then last the out from the 5506. Another thing I’m unclear on is the security levels. Is the larger the number the higher security? 75 is more scrutiny than 50? They word that weird on everything too. Who writes this stuff lol. Anyways, thank you for any and all help.

7 Replies 7

Myleslandish
Level 1
Level 1

And one more question… What would cause this to happen? I’ve never seen that on anything and it happened when making the above post

Hello,