Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Cisco LMS - logs exceed limit

Hi friends,

First of all, let me introduce myself since I'm new with cisco community. I'm syafiq currently working as an network administrator in Malaysia.

I need guidance on cisco LMS as I'm really new with the LMS systems. Currently I'm having issue with LMS where the log files are exceeding the size limit set by pervious administrator. Can anyone help me on how to backup/ remove the logs file and set it to a new locations i.e. new drive ? LMS-error.JPG

thanks in advanced!

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Did you tried Logrot?

In Logrot you dont change the log file location. The way it works is following :

> You select a log file.

> You configure logrot parameters to tell ciscoworks (or logrot process) when to rotate the content of log file when it reaches the defined limit.

> You schedule the logrot to run daily, weekly or monthly.

**>For immediately purging log file data if it is taking a lot of space you can use the immediate option under Schedule, by selecting a log file.

See image for procedure:

For more details please check the user guide details on logort:

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/docs/net_mgmt/ciscoworks_common_services_software/3.3/user/guide/admin.html#wp1144251

-Thanks

Vinod

-Thanks Vinod **Rating Encourages contributors, and its really free. **

View solution in original post

5 Replies 5

Vinod Arya
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Hi,

Welcome to CSC.

Ciscoworks has many features and all of those features has dedicated processes. All those processes and many ciscoworks agnets write their output (logggin) to the *.log files. Most of them are under NMSROOT/logs.

These files are usually not important enough (except syslog.log mostly) unless there is any issue with any of the LMS function and it needs to be t/shooted.