Views
Helpful
Replies

Cisco Switch Configuration Generator

aoyawale
Level 1
Level 1

Good day,

I'm trying to create a scripts to create configuration files for 500 switches consisting of C2960, C3850 & C3560 models. I have created 3 templates text files with for each model and an excel spreadsheet or MS Access DB containing specific information such as Switch model, hostnames, IP addresses, native vlans, etc for all the switches.

I'm trying create a script in VB or Powershell that would generate the configuration files for all 500 switches using the relevant template based on switch model and corresponding data from the Excel spreadsheet/Access Database?

I'm not good at programming and would appreciate any suggestion from the forum.

Thanks in advance.

2 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

Ben Walters
Level 3
Level 3

Do you have the beginnings of a script yet? I could help further if necessary but I will give you some general pointers first. I prefer powershell scripting so my logic below is based on how I like to create scripts using powershell.

I would start by scrubbing each of the 3 config files to replace any variable with a unique identifier so for example the hostname would be *HOSTNAME* IP address would be *IPADDRESS* and so on until you have 3 generic configs for your devices, which it sounds like you already have.

From there I would use an excel spreadsheet for each of your devices(1 device per row not column) and convert it to a csv when all the information is filled out in it. Then you should be able to easily parse the data and replace those variables in the generic config file for each switch and spit the data back out as a separate text file.

Here is a high level of how I would get this done.

Read the device information document and convert to a variable

For each line in the information document split using the comma as a delimiter (from csv file) to be able to grab each part of the config information and convert to a variable