Views
Helpful
Replies

HPOV and CW?

nitass
Level 1
Level 1

Hi all,

I’m new in network management software. I’m suspected about HPOV and CW. As my understood, both are same kind of software, running on SNMP protocol. Why does anyone tell to integrate HPOV with CW? Could you please advice?

Regarding CW, I saw many products in the CW family. How can I choose the right product? Could you please suggest?

Thanks,

Nitass

11 Replies 11

bellflower
Level 1
Level 1

Asking for a correct Q ....HPOV is not a product. It's a HP product family containing a lot of products such as NNM, Servicedesk,and more...

http://www.managementsoftware.hp.com/products/a-z.html

Pleas tell me, if you mean NNM, Network Node Manager VS CW ?

kkuppusa
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

Cw is ment for extensive management of Cisco Devices only, where as you can manage devices and Servers.

You can integrate CW with HPOV. By integrating the Cisco MIBs and icons will be integarated HPOV. This will disply the Cisco Devices with Cisco Icons and you can launch CW apps form HPOV.

Regards,

KKS

Bellflower,

Thanks for reply. Yes, I really meant the NNM.

Kkuppusa,

Thanks for reply. Do you mean the CW only manages the Cisco device? How about SNMP?

Please avice.

Thanks for advance,

Nitass

CiscoWorks is used to manage Cisco devices only. It is used to backup device configurations, do inventory of hardware and software, can be used to receive and process syslog messages and more. A core piece of CiscoWorks is called RME (Resource Manager Essentials) and that's exactly what it helps you do...helps you manage the resources.