Views
Helpful
Replies

Is SNMP "risky"?

craig.schar
Level 1
Level 1

Howdy y'all,

We monitor most of our Cisco network devices with SNMP using devmon/xymon and cacti. We do this across a dedicated network management LAN. There are a few devices, primarily FWSM (firewall service modules) and ACE's that do not have network management LAN connections.

Our network team is balking at enabling SNMP for these devices on our production network.

I am just looking for feedback on whether having password protected read-only snmp enabled on our internal network is really risky or not? We need to be able to monitor these devices, and feel that it is not a real risk.

I am not an expert, but am hoping some of you can chime in with your thoughts? If this has been covered before, I apologize.

Craig Schar

Unix Admin

Health and Human Services Commission

Austin, TX

3 Replies 3

rtjensen4
Level 4
Level 4

Depends on what version of SNMP you're using. If you use SNMP v2/2c, then yes it's risky. The SNMP community string (Password) along with the data in the packet are in clear text. Anyone with a sniffer can get the SNMP community string and use that to pull sensitive data from your devices. Everything from interface stats to security policies and device configs are available via SNMP.There are some steps you can take to limit what hosts can poll the device, but that doesn't protect the data in transit.

If you use SNMPv3, the risks are much lower. SNMPv3 uses user authentication (username and PW that's hashed) as well as encryption (DES). If you use these features, there's no more risk than having any other traffic on your network. You also have much more control over which OIDs can be polled when you use SNMPv3.

HTH

yjdabear
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni