Views
Helpful
Replies

RME - Device configuration backup

ilnaiduccna
Level 1
Level 1

Hi All,

I am new to Ciscoworks, where I can find the oldest configuration of one device which is configured 1 year back in CiscoWorks?

Purgue is not enabled to remove the old jobs, so we can get the oldest job (configuration of the device) right?

Can some one guide me please how I can get the oldest configuration of one device?

Regards,

Naidu.

22 Replies 22

Joe Clarke
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Go to RME > Config Mgmt > Archive Mgmt > Version Tree. Select your device, and you will be able to see all of the config revisions under its PRIMARY > RUNNING config.

Hi Joe,

Thank you very much for your response.

I checked the above mentioned path, but there I can see only 8 versions which are for Sep and Oct months, there is no versions for old months.

I am sure there were many changes on that device and purgue not enabled since starting.

I am at strange as my manager rushing me to get that information....Please help me.

Regards,

Naidu.

If the configs are not there, and you do not have a backup of LMS which contains them, then they are lost. Are you absolutely certain config purging is not enabled? Post a screenshot of RME > Admin > Config Mgmt > Purge Settings.

Hi Joe,

Please find the attached screenshots for Purge Settings.

Note: I can see the previous backups for another devices having 12 to 13 versions. But the one device only not have more than 8 versions as of now.

Could you please tell me about LMS backup, how can I take which containes all configured devices configurations.

Regards,

Naidu.

Yes, purging is really disabled. Assuming it has always been this way, then the device was never archived prior to September. It could be that perhaps the device was removed from RME and re-added.

LMS backups are configured under Common Services > Server > Admin > Backup. You can have multiple backup generations saved. I recommend retaining at least three backups.