cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Router Configuration

HouVivian1
Level 1
Level 1

Hi, I am a student at an academy and I messed up my router...

When trying to change the configuration registry, I accidentally entered 0x2132

However, before I could fix it I had to leave. The next day, the router no longer responded to hyperterminal. A friend from an earlier class told me the last know config of that router was 0x3102.

Can someone please tell me what that registry causes the router to do, and how I can fix it?

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Joe Clarke
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

I have an IOS Configuration Register decoder at http://www.marcuscom.com/confregdecode.html that can help you with problems like this in the future. The register values cause the baud rate to change. The new rate will depend on the router platform.

View solution in original post

8 Replies 8

david_r
Level 1
Level 1

0x2132 -- try your hyperterminal at 19200 baud

0x3102 -- try your baud at 1200

Ok, so I set the baud rate to 1200, and I was able to talk to the router again. However, when I tried to change the config registry back to 0x2102 it does not work. I change it, then I reload the router. The router still loads up as 0x3102, I am not sure what is going on...

I tried pulling the flash out, and entering rommon, but rommon is acting very strangely. the baud rate at 1200 is the only way i can get the router to respond, but whenever i try to type any commands in rommon, it gives me a series a strangely sequenced letters.

Any idea how I can fix this? Thanks so much...

Joe Clarke
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

I have an IOS Configuration Register decoder at http://www.marcuscom.com/confregdecode.html that can help you with problems like this in the future. The register values cause the baud rate to change. The new rate will depend on the router platform.

mrmozaffari
Level 1
Level 1

Hi