cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Shutdown Ports not in use for a while with EEM Tcl

ANDAFBCCO
Level 1
Level 1

I have downloaded these 2 Tcl scripts from this previous discussion and from the sounds of it it's exactly what I've been looking for. But the problem is I'm new to EEM and have no idea how to go about putting these on the switches themselves. I've searched for configuration guides but to no prevail. Any help is greatly appreciated. Here's the link to previous discussion:

https://supportforums.cisco.com/thread/164684.pdf;jsessionid=EEEEE143342DAAB34706D608D5C4C920.node0

48 Replies 48

Joe Clarke
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Create a directory on flash called, for example, policies.  Then copy the policies into this directory.  Then configure the following:

event manager directory user policy flash:/policies

event manager policy POLNAME

Where POLNAME is the name of the policy to install (e.g. sl_suspend_ports.tcl).

But pay attention to the required environment variables.  If you use the policies I mentioned in this other discussion, you'll note that they require you to configure:

event manager environment suspend_ports_days

event manager environment suspend_ports_config

Be sure you properly set those variables.

Thank you for the quick response and for being so helpful. I got the event manager policy tm_suspend_ports command to take but the sl_suspend_ports kicks back this error. I have put in these commands prior event manager environment suspend_ports_days 3 (we only want a 3 day window)
event manager environment suspend_ports_config flash:/susp_ports.dat but this database is not created in flash. Like I said before I'm no script write this is all jibberish to me.

Register event failed:missing close-bracket
    while compiling
"set results"
    ("while" body line 2)
    while compiling
"while { 1 } {
    set results [run_cli [list "show event manager policy pending | include tm_suspend_ports.tcl"]
    if { ! [regexp {tm_suspend_ports...."