Cisco Support Community
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements

Welcome to Cisco Support Community. We would love to have your feedback.

For an introduction to the new site, click here. And see here for current known issues.

New Member

Software Management

HI,

I have added the images from 6500 devices, inclusive from SXF

to SXI2. I have also stopped and restarted the daemon manager and

performed a inventory recollection of all 6500 devices. Upon trying the

Distribute by Devices, I got the same behavior such that:

Devices running SXH or SXI have options for upgrade to SXH or SXI.

Devices running SXF only have options for upgrading to SXF.

I started wondering about Recommendation preferences under View/Edit

Software Management Preferences. Currently I have all of the following

checked:

Recommendation

Include Cisco.com images for image recommendation.

Include General deployment images.

Include latest maintenance release (of each major release).

Include images higher than running image.

Include same image feature subset as running image.

What I have found after experimenting with disabling and enabling

different combinations of the recommendations, is that enabling the

following set of recommendations produces the above behavior for SXF

devices:

Include Cisco.com images for image recommendation.

Include images higher than running image.

Include same image feature subset as running image.

If I uncheck the Cisco.com images for image recommendation and just have

the following:

Include General deployment images.

Include latest maintenance release (of each major release).

Include images higher than running image.

Include same image feature subset as running image.

then I can chose SXI as an option to upgrade SXF devices.

Is this a bug of some sort or am I misunderstanding how the

recommendations should be checked off?

-Thanks

1 REPLY
Cisco Employee

Re: Software Management

This is an issue with how these options are documented. Essentially, many of these options should be treated as having an "Only" in front of them. I generally recommend people leave these options unchecked, and add desired images to the local repo. This step can be done out-of-band, and saves time when it comes down to the actual deployment phase.

115
Views
0
Helpful
1
Replies