cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Venting my frustration with ciscoworks

crose
Level 1
Level 1

I have an end to end cisco network and we are trying to ge t ahandle on making managing all this cisco gear easier. I have been working with ciscoworks in various incarnations for about the last 5 years.

I've been fighting with LMS 2.5 now for going on a year, and have YET to be able to get it to function properly. I have found manageability in cisco devices short of using ssh and an IOS command prompt is next to an impossible task unless you want to do it in an insecure fashion.

There is still no full SNMP V3 support available in ciscoworks. The scp services have only recently come into fruition. I still have tons of devices with inconsistant IOS commands, varying levels of SSH support, and an overly buggy, almost useless LMS2.5 that I have to fight constantly just to get it to do BASIC tasks.

What is so freakin hard about making a device and the LMS sytem support fully secure device management in a consistant manner? I'm talking about full SSH 2 support, SCP, and snmp v3 with encryption and auth? We had a netowrk audit as aprt of outr HIPPA complaince measures and we got nailed for still using tftp and telnet to manage devices on our network.

What infuriates me to no end is I was just surveyed about what I wanted in a new version of ciscoworks and I told them JUST FIX THE DAMN STUFF YOU ALREADY HAVE! Don't add any mroe new crap until the stuff you have works relaibly! And I know others that said the same. Menawhile I get wind they are now creating a NEW ciscworks product to do workflow management! They could manage workflow form now until x-mas 2020 and it wouldn't do me any good if the basic work (updating software, archiving configs, etc) isn't getting done?

Anybody else as frustrated with this edsel as I am?

20 Replies 20

I don't think that having ciscoworks running on Solaris will keep all the trouble one can have with Ciscoworks away from you and your staff.