Views
Helpful
Replies

Cisco ASA 5516-X with FirePower and FireSight Management Console

knguyenfolio
Level 1
Level 1

Hello everyone,

I'm looking to purchase ASA 5516-X with FirePower. I have a couple questions, please bear with me since I'm new with the ASA-X version:

1. According to the sales engineer that I'm talking to, he said that I don't need to have a physical box or VM for FireSight Management Console. He said the ASA 5516-X included the management console on the device. Is it correct? I can't verify this from any Cisco knowledge base. Can someone please confirm or direct me to the sources?

2. Any configuration guides or samples for the ASA 5500-X with FirePower? We had ASA 5510 and I just wonder if there will be a lot of different configs and commands to work with the ASA 5500-X with Firepower version versus ASA-5510.

Thank you very much in advanced.

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

1) Thats right and documented at least in the FirePOWER ordering guide.

2) The config of the base-ASA will be pretty much the same to what you know from the 5510. The configuration of the FirePOWER-system is completely different from both the look-and-feel of the ASDM (although integrated) and the logic of the workflow. You'll need some time to adapt to it but it's worth it.

View solution in original post

10 Replies 10

1) Thats right and documented at least in the FirePOWER ordering guide.

2) The config of the base-ASA will be pretty much the same to what you know from the 5510. The configuration of the FirePOWER-system is completely different from both the look-and-feel of the ASDM (although integrated) and the logic of the workflow. You'll need some time to adapt to it but it's worth it.

Karsten,

Thank you very much for the information. That's awesome. Where do you think I can look up for more information about FirePower with its look and feel of the ASDM? I want to start looking into it and learn as much as I can.

Thanks again.

Khoi