cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Media Convertors vs. Inline SFP or GBIC

d-garnett
Level 3
Level 3

I have read over many posts on this forum, but I still have some questions......

Are there any gained advantages in using the Cisco SFP or GBIC to connect to the Fiber Cabling (besides Product Support) over external Media Convertors?

I am new to the Optical World. A design project was dropped in my hands. I have to connect 2 offices using Fiber. The actual underground cable run will be handled by an outside contractor. Short Distance (less than 1 km).

I have to come up with an equipment list and configure the network devices after they are purchased. I am looking at a 3750 Switch at each site and Transition Media Convertors hanging off of an Ethernet switchport (100 or 1000) that connect to the fiber. I am also looking to make those interfaces VLAN trunks.

Is it better to use the inline SFP modules instead?

(I figure using the External Media Convertors instead would be keeping it simple since I can attach it to an configurable ethernet port on the switch)

also

Are the fiber SFP modules configured like any other interface?

interface ethernet XX

swithport mode trunk

etc

any thoughts appreciated

3 Replies 3

konigl
Level 7
Level 7

Advantages to Gigabit-speed SFP or GBIC:

* Takes up less space.

* It derives power from the switch it's plugged into. (Media converter requires a separate AC power outlet.)

* Covered under the warranty or Cisco SMARTnet maintenance contract you have on the switch it's plugged into. (Transition's media converters have a lifetime warranty, but the turn-around time on a replacement may not be as quick as what you get with a SMARTnet agreement.)

Disadvantages:

* Cost?

* Can only be used with Cisco devices. (Transition's media converter can be connected to any manufacturer's switch.)

What kind of fiber you are running between the two buildings?