Cisco Support Community
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements

Attention: The Community will be in read-only mode on 12/14/2017 from 12:00 am pacific to 11:30 am.

During this time you will only be able to see content. Other interactions such as posting, replying to questions, or marking content as helpful will be disabled for few hours.

We apologize for the inconvenience while we perform important updates to the Community.

CCM upgrade with minimal downtime

Hi all,

Just a question, can we upgrade a Callmanager cluster with almost minimal downtime to the users?

I have a CCM publisher and subscriber at version 4.0(2a) and am intending to upgrade to 4.2(1).

My plan is to mirror the harddisks (MCS7835) and upgrade them in my lab first.

Next, during the cutover date, I would unplug the Publisher from the network. (Phones would still be registered to the subscribers but no changes can be made to the database. The services would be down too.)

I can then boot up the publisher with the upgraded harddisk and plug it into the network.

As the Pub is 4.2(1) and the Sub is 4.0(2a), no replication can take place.

Next, I would unplug the Sub, and the phones registered to it would reregister to the Publisher.

I can then boot up the Subscriber with the upgraded harddisk and plug it back to the network.

Phones would auto re-home back to the Subscriber.

I guess the only downtime is when the phones swing from Sub to Pub and also the time for the phones to upgrade it's firmware.

Is this a feasible plan? or did I missed something out?

Thanks for your time. (quite a long post)

:)

Eugene

5 REPLIES

Re: CCM upgrade with minimal downtime

Eugene,

You are on the right track.

When you swing the phones to publisher after the upgrade, there will be a major firmware upgrade. So the phones may be out longer than expected (possibly 2-5 minutes per phone).

Hi Sankar,