Cisco Support Community
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements

Welcome to Cisco Support Community. We would love to have your feedback.

For an introduction to the new site, click here. And see here for current known issues.

CM AutoAttendant vs. Unity Call Handler

I'm a newbie at this, but here goes . . .<br><br>Could someone briefly explain the difference between the AutoAttendant that comes with Call Manager and the Call Handlers that can be configured in Unity? Then, to go one step further, when would CM's AA be used (or not used) over setting up Call Handlers in Unity?<br><br>

5 REPLIES
Gold

Re: CM AutoAttendant vs. Unity Call Handler

The CallManager AA is targeted at the customer that does not have a voicemail product that provides an AA feature. An example of such a voicemail product would be the end of lifed Cisco uOne.

If you have Unity you will not gain any functionality from the CallManager AA. If fact you will lose the tight and native integration that the Unity AA provides.

Keith

Keith Chambers
Unity Technical Lead
Unified Voice Team, San Jose
Cisco Systems
kechambe@cisco.com

Anonymous
N/A

So, when you say "Unity AA" you are meaning the "Unity Call Handler" functionality?

The issue that raised this question is:
The client would like all calls coming in to the building to get a person and not voice mail. How would you queue a call to "wait on a person", if all receptionists are on the phone?

Suppose two receptionists, A and B with five calls, 1, 2, 3, 4 and 5. Call 1 goes to A, 2 to B and (we would like) 3, 4 and 5 to get a message saying "Please hold for the next available person". Then A and B would answer each as they become free. How would this be accomplished through Unity?

Anonymous
N/A

The question I raised: