cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Conferencing and Transcoder Resources in Campus Environment

johnnylingo
Level 5
Level 5

This is my first time working in a campus environment, and have some questions regarding best practices especially regarding conferencing and transcoding resources.

The central office consists of several buildings, all connected via gigabit fiber. It houses a single CallManager Cluster, IPCC and Unity servers, and 2 2821 voice gateways. Each gateway has a connection PRI to the PSTN, and also a PRI to the legacy PBX.

The two remote offices (50 users) are located within one mile. Each office is connected to the main office via metro ethernet, but also has a 2821 with FXO ports to handle 911 calls. In addition, the 2821 has a Data T1 terminated on a 2821 at the central office. Routing is configured so all Voice VLAN traffic goes over the Data T1 rather than the Metro ethernet.

Due to the 1.5 MB limit on the data T1, calls to/from the remote offices use G.729. Calls in the same office use G.711.

My question is where conferencing and trancoder resources should be configured. Currently, all 2821s are configure as MGCP gateways in CCM, but none have conferencing or transcoding configured. Should I configure this on the 2821s in the central office and have the remote offices use them, or configure them on the remote 2821s as well? Keep in mind the remote offices do not have PRIs, just a couple POTS lines for 911 and SRST calls.

6 Replies 6

John,

Well first and foremost you want to review the CCM SRND. I'm gonna link the CCM 4.1.3 (most common) but you can also find the rest at this url.

SRND Home

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/netsol/ns656/networking_solutions_program_category_home.html

CCM 4.x SRND

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/sw/voicesw/ps556/products_implementation_design_guide_book09186a00806e8a79.html