Cisco Support Community
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Configure 2 lines for 2FXO card

Guys, this might sound silly to you. I'm a novice at VOIP and need help setting up my system. Someone configured it the first time and is not accessible anymore. They setup the system to use one PSTN line on a 2FXO card, so only one person could dial out at a time. We now have 4 lines, but getting 2 to work is proving difficult enough. I tried simply plugging the lines in at the same time, but when a person places a call it uses both lines at the same time. So on one you get an engaged tone while the other connects, and you can hear the two on your phone at the same time.

I've attached the config of the router for all to see. I'm not sure whether additional lines are provisioned via Call Manager or the router.

I'll be installing an additional FXO card on the router for 2 more lines, but first I have to get the current card to use two, so that 2 people can call out at the same time, and when one person calls it uses only one line.

Your help in pointing me in the right direction would be most appreciated.

9 REPLIES
Blue

Re: Configure 2 lines for 2FXO card

to get the second fxo to dial out do the following:

R(config)# dial-peer voice 2 pots

R(config-dial-peer)# preference 2

R(config-dial-peer)# destination-pattern .T

R(config-dial-peer)# port 1/0/1

this will allow the outbound calling of the second fxo.

Thanks gpulos,

I tried your config changes. Unfortunately they didn't solve my problem.

My problem is not that I can't use the 2nd port, but that when I dial out it's using both port at the same time. So on the handset I can hear a busy tone as well as the person talking on the other end because one line connects while the second fails for obvious reasons.

If I call a mobile it connects and begins to ring while I also hear a message requesting me to leave a voicemail all at the same time.

Your help is appreciated