Cisco Support Community
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Users might experience few discrepancies in Search results. We are working on this on our side. We apologize for the inconvenience it may have caused.
New Member

CUCM 6.1 DirSync

What happens to the CUCM built in Corp Directory when DirSync is enabled?

Does it just remain stored in CUCM in a locked state or whatever with the data that it contained at the time DirSync is enabled?

If I enable DirSync as a test to see the results and then wanted to turn DirSync back off for some reason then will CUCM simply begin using the built in Corp Directory again?

4 REPLIES
New Member

Re: CUCM 6.1 DirSync

No....there is no reverting back, you can maybe export users using the BAT tool and then reimport them...

Note: If end users exist in the Cisco Unified Communications Manager database before synchronization with a corporate directory occurs, the system will delete those end users that did not have a matching user ID in the corporate directory. For example, if users bob and sanjay were in the Cisco Unified Communications Manager database, but only bob was in the LDAP directory, then sanjay would be marked inactive and eventually get deleted by the garbage collector program.

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/docs/voice_ip_comm/cucm/admin/6_1_1/ccmcfg/b02ldsys.html#wp1053042

JoeL

New Member

Re: CUCM 6.1 DirSync

JoeL,

Right on.

I have read through the relevant documentation and I understand what will happen once DirSync is enabled.

Ideally there would never be a need to revert back once DirSync is running...but I thought it was still worth asking.

Is there any reason to export and save the existing CUCM user data?

New Member

Re: CUCM 6.1 DirSync

No..not unless you want to revert back.

It does not hurt to do an export though, you can compare and make sure you have all the users in LDAP as well..

JoeL

~rate if posts help!

New Member

Re: CUCM 6.1 DirSync

I guess my instincts are to test DirSync first to see how it performs and also see what changes or cleanup would be needed.

The ability to revert back quickly and easily would be nice but it looks like reverting back is a little more involved...although not really too much work.

186
Views
0
Helpful
4
Replies
CreatePlease to create content