cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Dialogic board config

kimberly
Level 1
Level 1

I am a Unity Certified Engineer. Fortunatley, I have never had to do a dual-integration yet. When I was reading about the Dialogic D41E PCI board configuration in the Installation Guide, I noticed the rotary dial configuration says the first board should be set to 1 and the second board set to 2, etc. But the Unity system Engineering book I used for the test last year says the first board should be set to 0 and the second board set to 2.<br><br>I thought I should point out the error in the Unity documentation between the Unity system engineer book for the test & the Unity Installation guide.<br><br>So which book is correct?<br><br>Is the Dialogic D41E PCI rotary switch first board supposed to be set to 0 or 1?<br><br>

8 Replies 8

eschulz
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Go with the current installation guide... 1 for the first board, 2 for the second, etc.
-Eric

have you configured a Dialogic D41E PCI board before?

When I took my test, I was looking at my System Engineer book & answered 0 for board one & 1 for board two etc.

I beleive it is confusing to know which book is right. This inconsistency between the two books has been there for at least the past year & a half. Why has no one corrected this yet?

In theory, the boards should work fine as long as each uses a unique setting. However there can be behavioral differences between settings so we try to standardize it for testing and support. I believe there were some isolated cases where the 0,1,... numbering was failing so the 1,2,... was adopted. I don't know the details off hand. The 1,2,... numbering is what we've been testing with for some time now. I'm not sure why the System Engineer Book doesn't reflect this.

Thanks for that info.