Cisco Support Community
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements

Welcome to Cisco Support Community. We would love to have your feedback.

For an introduction to the new site, click here. And see here for current known issues.

Extension is already in use.

I have a Unified Messaging subscriber that has lost their extension in Unity. The Extension field is now blank and when I attempt to enter one I receive the following error:

"Extension XXXXX is already is use by Mail User: Username. Please enter a unique extension."

I have replaced the actual extension with XXXXX and the person’s username with username in the above error message. The username provided matches exactly the subscriber that has a blank extension. So essentially it is telling me that I cannot assign that subscriber an extension because they already own it. That user is having problems when they try and forward their phone to voice mail.

I have run DBWalker and it does not report any errors with my database. Any ideas as to what I can do to fix this user and assign them the correct extension. I could probably just delete the subscriber and re-import, but I do not want to inconvenience the user by making them re-setup their mailbox.

Configuration Specifics

Unity 4.0(2)

Exchange 2000

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Cisco Employee

Re: Extension is already in use.

I can't give you firm assurances that it'll work - if the link between the subscriber and their primary call handler is completely broken, the subscriber delete may fail or at least fail to remove the handler itself.

I suspect the delete will likely work and it'll be fine but if not, we'll have to go in and remove the remaining "residual" subscriber information from a few of the tables by hand. That hasn't happened often in the field and certainly not with any recent versions under normal use so I kinda doubt that'll be necessary.

11 REPLIES
Gold