Cisco Support Community
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements

Welcome to Cisco Support Community. We would love to have your feedback.

For an introduction to the new site, click here. And see here for current known issues.

Fax Protocol Compatability

I'm fairly new to VoIP and have only just started dealing with fax protocols so please bare with me.

At one of our clients we have replaced quiet a few 3925 and 2921 ISR at their remote sites over the last 6 months. We have noticed on the new devices running the new IOS that the cisco fax protocol is not support and we have to configure T.38. I did a quick check at what fax protocol all the voice gateways and vg224's are configured with and it looks like we have a mix of protocols in our network.

e.g.

Site A:

2921 H323 voice gateway and a analogue fax plugged into a vg224 using stcapp

Voice gateway fax protocol config:

fax protocol t38 version 0 ls-redundancy 0 hs-redundancy 0 fallback pass-through g711alaw
modem passthrough nse codec g711alaw

VG224 Config:

fax protocol t38 nse ls-redundancy 0 hs-redundancy 0 fallback pass-through g711alaw
modem passthrough nse codec g711alaw

Site B:

2921 H323 voice gateway with a analogue fax plugged into a fxs card using stcapp:
fax protocol cisco

Head Office:

The H323 2851 voice gateway at head office:
fax protocol cisco

vg224 using stcapp  with our head office faxes connected:
fax protocol t38 nse force ls-redundancy 0 hs-redundancy 0 fallback cisco
modem passthrough nse codec g711ulaw

All our analogue ports on either our vg224s or FXS ports are using stcapp and are registered to the call manager so internal fax to fax communication in most cases goes internally over the wan link rather than over the external pstn lines. Now I have a number of questions regarding the fax protocols: