Cisco Support Community
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements

Welcome to Cisco Support Community. We would love to have your feedback.

For an introduction to the new site, click here. If you'd prefer to explore, try our test area to get started. And see here for current known issues.

General Setup of VoIP Services

Hello everyone

I want to start off by letting you know I am pretty new to VoIP. I have been a network admin for a while, but am new in the VoIP side. Given that, my company inherited a 1760-v router running CME 4.0 and they have asked me to set this up for VoIP service on our internal network so that we can get rid of the legacy phone system. I have a number of questions that I was hoping I might be able to get answered here.

1. We have 8 POTS lines coming in from our telco provider for the phone system. Can I purchase 2 of the VIC2-4FXO cards and put them in the 1760-V to enable dialing out to the PSTN for internal clients trying to call outside lines? Am trying to figure a way to not have to purchase a PRI since it is about 600.00 more a month than the POTS lines.

2.Has anyone connected CME 4.0 to an ESI PBX for voice mail? Am trying to figure out how to configure a Unity server, but would like to see if we can use the existing PBX for voicemail, call attendant, etc since it still works fine.

Any help the community can give would be appreciated.

Thanks

Nick

10 REPLIES
Hall of Fame Super Gold

Re: General Setup of VoIP Services

1. Yes, you can use the analog lines with FXO. But renouncing to PRI is like doing things half-way. Many things become very complicated or impossible to do without it. If you can't afford full PRI, ask for a reduced number of channels, or ISDN BRI.