Views
Helpful
Replies

IP phones only working one way

jigsaw2026
Level 1
Level 1

Sorry, I'm a complete VoIP novice...

We have a bit of a weird problem in that when you dial an extension which is our other office (connected by 2 x 2mpbs MPLSs) the caller can hear the recieving person's voice but the the recieving can't hear the caller. This happens both ways, i.e. when we call them and when they call us. We do have an access-list in place and I have opened up the ports that were logged as being denied when the calls were placed (namely 51000 range) and now nothing is being logged as denied.

Apparently this has worked when initially tested, so I'm not sure what could have changed.

Any ideas? Has anyone come across this before? We are using Avaya phones.

Many thanks,

J2026

13 Replies 13

mheusinger
Level 10
Level 10

Hi,

one way voip can have a couple of reasons.

1) filters - as described. VoIP ports are dynamically negotiated. For testing purposes remove the filters potentially blocking access between the phones.

2) IP routing - make sure there is connectivity between the phones. F.e. there could be a static route missing somewhere in one direction. Simple first check: can the default gateway of one phone ping the other phone. Again make sure filters are not interfering with your connectivity test.

3) QoS related - packets might be dropped because of an overload situation in one direction. This , however, is usually a transient issue, while the overload situation occurs.

4) Software bug - anything is possible. Can the phone in question be used with other locations?

Regards, Martin

Thanks for your response Martin, much appreciated.

1) I have removed all filters and re-tried: same result.

2) Definitely connectivity is OK, OSPF routes in place, lots of traffic passes between the 2 regularly. Verifyied by ping as suggested.