Cisco Support Community
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements

Welcome to Cisco Support Community. We would love to have your feedback.

For an introduction to the new site, click here. If you'd prefer to explore, try our test area to get started. And see here for current known issues.

Location VS Gatekeeper

Hi,

I'm a newbie to CAC so would greatly appreciated if someone can shed some light on this.

What's the main difference between the use of locations VS use of GK to limit bandwidth to sites? When will you use which method and is there any pros and cons on each method?

Thanks

9 REPLIES

Re: Location VS Gatekeeper

GK is needed only when you have a distributed deploykment model where you have multiple callmanager clusters or callmanager at central site with cme at remote sites. GK will help control how many calls are going from one cluster to another cluster.

Locations are used in a centralized call processing model where remote sites are running off of the centralized call manager. You may define regions to define what codec will be used across the wan. But still there needs to be a way to limit the number of g729 calls that go across the wan. In this case there is no need for GK because all phones are part of the same cluster so the Callmanager can do dial plan resolution by itself. You define locations in this case for each remote site. The main site can be considered as having unlimited bandwidth. You can define one location for each remote site and specify the number of calls that can be placed from that site to any other site. Calculations are done for g711 calls at 80kbps per call and 24 kbps for g729. So if you are using g729 across the wan and you want to limit to 3 calls from a remote site, you can set the location bandwidth for that site to 24*3 = 72kbps.

Hope that makes sense!

Sankar

PS: please remember to rate posts!

Hi Sankar,