cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Minimum Requirements for VoIP on LAN

jeff
Level 1
Level 1

I'm just starting out with understanding VoIP and the related Cisco products, but I would like to setup a local IP telephony system here in our office. What are the minimum hardware/software requirements to setup a couple of Cisco 7960 or 7940 IP phones on our LAN switched network?

Thanks for any help.

Jeff

3 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

Jeff,

the reason those switches were recommended is that they support QOS and also 802.1q vlan support for the Cisco IPPhones. This means you can use one wire to the desktop, ie. from the switch to the IPPhone then from the phone to the PC. The vlan support allows you to send the voice and pc traffic down different vlan tagging therefore making sure voice has a QOS. Yes callmanager runs on windows and it would sit in the the same subnet as the IPPhones, and the pc data would sit in there subnet.

There/s plenty of reading out there to read, u just need to get stuck in !!

Have u considere'd CallManager Express ? this is a IOS version of callmanger, and would be far cheaper to set up if yopu are just experimenting ! something like a 1760-v could run this IOS

View solution in original post

You do not need a Windows server to run CallManager Express (CCME). CCME is a IOS feature, and will run as a telephony-service on the IOS router. Not all routers and IOS support the feature. Below are two links to give a understanding of the feature, how it works and on what platforms and IOS it is supported.

http://www.cisco.com/univercd/cc/td/doc/product/access/ip_ph/ip_ks/cme31/cme31spc.htm

http://www.cisco.com/univercd/cc/td/doc/product/software/ios123/123newft/123t/123t_7/cme31sa/index.htm

This is correct, you will not need a Windows server. Callmanager express runs on IOS u will just need a lic for it. Also as you are new to setting this up CallManager Express has a web page gui for the set up.

8 Replies 8

pwalenta
Level 1
Level 1